And Then There Were None: Agatha Christie

Rating:  9646992☕☕☕☕  1/2

This was my first Agatha Christie murder mystery and it certainly won’t be my last! I actually sat down to read this book earlier today and did not stop until I was finished. That’s right, a one sitter! It was one of those “forget to eat, forget the need to go to the bathroom” kind of reading sessions and I have no regrets. 

Agatha Christie is known as the best selling novelist of all time (outsold by only the Bible and Shakespeare) and I can definitely see why. When I decided that I wanted to give her a go, I did a little research as to which of her books were the most highly recommended. And Then There Were None was on the top of most lists so I headed to my local Chapters, bought it and was ready to go!

This novel is INCREDIBLE. The mystery of this masterpiece is ten people are lured to an island and are murdered one by one in accordance with a creepy children’s nursery rhyme called “Ten Little Indians.” One of the ten people on the island is the killer, but who could it be? Will they be able to deduce who their resident homicidal maniac is before it is too late?

As I already said, this book kept me reading right through to the end. I loved playing the guessing game of “oh! This one is definitely the killer.” Naturally whenever I got a hunch my suspect died. The suspense is incredible and as you’re reading, you can really feel the isolation of these people on the island. With every murder the tension heightens and it gets more creepy because they know that one of them is a killer and they are all on their guard, and yet people are still being killed. I couldn’t see and way to tell who was the killer, therefore the revelation did come as a surprise to me. Furthermore, the explanation of how it all happened makes complete sense, even if you have no idea how everything is going to resolve itself.

I most definitely recommend this novel for anyone who is looking for a good mystery or if you want to start reading Agatha Christie. Based on this book I’d say she lives up to her immense reputation and I am looking forward to reading everything else she has to offer. I can’t wait to meet Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple! From what I’ve read in this novel, Agatha Christie certainly is the queen of mystery 🙂

XOCeeCee

To find out more about Agatha Christie click here to visit her Wikipedia page or here to go to the official Agatha Christie website.

On Boxing Day 2015, BBC is airing a new And Then There Were None mini series! For more information click here

 

3 thoughts on “And Then There Were None: Agatha Christie

Leave a Reply

