Beautiful Creatures: Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

R6304335ating = ☕☕
  
I have to say, when it came to Beautiful Creatures, I was sorely disappointed. I kind of didn’t know what to expect going into it because I had read both seething reviews and reviews that raved about how wonderful it was. Let’s just say that is was far from wonderful. I know that I should have seen the warning signs for yet another Twilight-esque dull paranormal romance. First of all, the full list of clichés are present including…..

✓    small town no one has heard of
✓    new girl/boy in town
✓    couple is shunned and/or avoided by everyone
✓    “there’s just something about him/her that draws [the protagonist] towards him/her”
✓    two teenagers claiming to be in eternal love.

So after seeing these warning signs, why didn’t I run for the hills? In all honesty I hoped that it would be good. But if I’m being COMPLETELY honest a big reason was that the movie trailer looked half decent because ….. drumroll please!…. JERMEY IRONS was in it! (if you couldn’t tell by that dramatic reveal, I LOVE Jeremy Irons.)

On a more minor note, one of the reviews on the actual book claims that the narrator has a “wry narrative voice [that] will resonate with readers of John Green.” Ooh! Ooh! I am a reader on John Green! I find him extremely witty, clever and entertaining to listen to. So this review made the book sound promising to me. But man, oh man, that is not even remotely true. Whoever wrote that review probably never picked up a John Green book in their life because I don’t know who Ethan Wate sounds like, but it certainly isn’t John Green.

More reasons for my disappointment? Well, nothing really happened. I found it very uninteresting and it could have been done so much better. It had an alright premise with witches and a curse from the days of the Civil war and all that jazz. Sounds like it could be good right? And it could have been, but the plot and characters were so simple and undeveloped that it didn’t satisfy.
Not to mention the fact that the narrator, who is supposed to be a teenaged boy, was not a believable one at all. I just didn’t buy it. It was a far cry from Libba Bray’s Cameron in Going Bovine, who I totally bought as a teenage boy. (Props on that one Libba Bray!)
Also, I found that the story being told through his eyes kinda killed the romance for me because I didn’t buy him as a narrator. The whole romance in general wasn’t satisfying to me, and I’m not really 100% sure why. It just didn’t give me those butterflies! That’s pretty important to me if I’m reading a supposed romance. I wants ta feel them butterflies!

Finally, you know how the first book in a series will end with the implication that there will be another book, but at the same time the reader gets a satisfying ending to the plot that took place in the book? You know what I’m talking about? I mean Harry’s first year at Hogwarts coming to a close after he successfully thwarts Voldemort’s scheme to achieve eternal life. I’m talking Katniss and Peeta surviving the Hunger Games and The Thanksgiving Battle in the FAYZ being over, but knowing that their hardships are only beginning. In Beautiful Creatures that doesn’t happen! Sure it ends, but there was no clean ending to an initial plot. The problem literally just gets pushed back another year. COME ON. I just read 600 pages waiting to see how they are going to solve their big problem of “we have to save Lena from going to the dark side!” and get NO RESOLVED ENDING? It was ALL FOR NAUGHT? Man, that kinda bugged me.

Anyway, I gave it two stars instead of one because, in spite of being an extremely long book in which little happens, I found it very readable and that kept it from being completely and utterly boring. Like the teacups say, s’alright but I’m pretty sure I’m not going to continue the series. I really have no desire to find out what happens, and if I find myself wondering whatever happened to Ethan and Lena, I will probably just read the Wikipedia plot summary. It’s probably somewhat more well written than the book would be. Ouch…. okay that was kinda harsh, but seriously it wasn’t all that great!

So what do you think? Do you agree with my thoughts? Or do you think I’m completely off the mark and don’t have a clue? Let me know!

XOCeeCee

To find out more about the Caster Chronicles series click here –> http://thecasterchronicles.wikia.com/wiki/The_Caster_Chronicles_Wiki 

 

One thought on “Beautiful Creatures: Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

Leave a Reply

