I Was a Child of Holocaust Survivors: Bernice Eisenstein

12221440Rating: ☕️ ☕️ 

This book took me an embarrassingly long time to read although it was only 187 pages and full of pictures, Why so long you may ask? Well, it’s simply the fact that I have been extremely busy lately, what with midterms looming, and three English courses starting to take their toll. I kind of feel bad because if I had read the book in a day or two, which it should have taken me to read it, I might have liked it more. But oh well. It is what it is.

I found the premise of this book interesting. Who doesn’t want to read about what it’s like to have parents who have survived one of the most horrifying and shocking tragedies of human history? However, I found that, even though the book WAS so short, it dragged in places. In fact the only reason I gave this two teacups instead of one was because when she was telling her mother and father’s stories about the war and all that it was really interesting. But I did not enjoy the parts when she spoke about random things from present day, like “The Group” of her parents friends and things like that.


Like I said before I wish that I could have done this book justice by not taking so long to read it, but from reading this book in the time frame that I did, it just didn’t satisfy as much as I would have liked.

XOCeeCee

Leave a Reply

