The Graveyard Book: Neil Gaiman

2213661Rating: ☕️ ☕️ ☕️ ☕️ ☕️

This is the second book I’ve read by Neil Gaiman, and I absolutely loved it! Admittedly, the brilliance of this novel did not hit me until I closed the book, took a deep breath, and just thought “whoa.” This book is a masterpiece that will stick with me for a long time and I definitely want to read it again! I finished the majority of this book in one sitting because I simply could not put it down. I would definitely recommend this book for children and adults alike! 

The Graveyard Book tells the story of a boy named Nobody Owens (or Bod for short.) After the murder of his entire family, Bod escapes and enters a graveyard where the ghosts of its inhabitants take him in and raise him as their own. I loved the way this novel was written in that it told different stories about Bod’s adventures growing up in the graveyard at different ages and elements of all the described events played a part in the stunning conclusion. I was enthralled all the way through this novel, loved following Bod on his adventures, and was intrigued by why the man Jack killed Bod’s family and wanted to kill him. 

Along with enjoying the fantastical plot, the themes I felt this book was trying to portray really touched me. I wrote down many quotes from this book, that’s for sure! I loved how Gaiman played with the concepts of life and death. Death is something many people fear because of the unknown. We don’t know what happens to us after death. However, Gaiman flipped this idea saying that life is the greatest unknown adventure. Bod is a boy who has lived among the dead in a graveyard for his entire life, and he says himself that death is no mystery to him. It is when Bod ventures out into the world of the living, that the real unknown adventure begins. I absolutely loved that 🙂 

This book definitely won a special place in my heart! It is certainly one to read the kids someday! I have to say, Neil Gaiman is an author I definitely want to explore more and I can’t wait to pick up some of his adult novels like American Gods or The Ocean at the End of the Lane. Hopefully we’ll see some reviews of those soon, but for now I cannot recommend The Graveyard Book enough! This book is an absolute gem. 

XOCeeCee

To find out more about Neil Gaiman and his work click here –> http://www.neilgaiman.com/

To listen to The Graveyard Book on audiobook, read by the marvellous Neil Gaiman, Click here –> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zyrRbZMGAcc 

One thought on “The Graveyard Book: Neil Gaiman

Leave a Reply

