Sally Heathcote Suffragette: Mary M. Talbot, Kate Charlesworth, and Brian Talbot

18364789Rating: ☕️☕️☕️☕️1/2

I’ll admit that at the beginning of this graphic novel, I wasn’t sure if I was going to be blown away. However, by the time I reached the end I could not stop thinking about it! Being a graphic novel, I was able to finish this in one sitting and in such a short time I’m still haunted by the last few pages and the story that unfolded about women’s suffrage in England at the turn of the twentieth century. Sally Heathcote Suffragette accounts actual events and the majority of the characters were real people so it read more like a historical account than a historical fiction. I highly recommend this graphic novel to anyone interested in history and women’s rights, especially if you are a young lady who has recently become of voting age.

Personally, this graphic novel made me so appreciative that I live in a time where I don’t have to worry about having rights and representation. Without question, I am lucky enough to live in a country where I have not felt disadvantaged or oppressed as a woman, and I owe it all to women like the ones we find in this graphic novel. They fought for us, were imprisoned for us, and died for us so we could have the right to vote and the right to be recognized as human beings equal to our male counterparts. I have this novel to thank for allowing me to appreciate how extreme the struggle truly was for women at the beginning of the twentieth century.

The reason I knocked off half a teacup is because, as I said at the beginning of this review, it didn’t grab me right away. The art style is interesting, but I found that a lot of the characters looked the same and there were a lot that I got mixed up. It was also a little jumpy in places so it was a tiny bit hard to follow for me at the beginning. It was definitely one of those reads that I didn’t realize I loved until I read the last line and closed the book. THAT LAST LINE. It hit me so hard I tossed and turned all night thinking about it. It will definitely stay with me for a long time.

As far as graphic novels go, this one is certainly a gem, particularly if you like historical or biographical graphic novels, or if you are passionate about women’s rights. All women should remember the work that our ancestors have done for us to give us the privileged lives we live today, and should realize that women had it much worse than some could imagine. We now have the vote, we now have a voice, and we have rights, all thanks to our ladies of yesterday. And you can read all about these courageous women in this wonderful graphic novel!

XOCeeCee

To learn more about Mary Talbot and her work visit her website here –> http://www.mary-talbot.co.uk/sally-heathcote-suffragette/ 

Want to watch a film about the suffrage movement in England after reading this book? Click here to watch the trailer for Suffragette starring Carey Mulligan, Meryl Streep, Brendan Gleeson, Helena Bonam Carter and more! –> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=056FI2Pq9RY

To learn more about women’s suffrage click here –> http://www.historynet.com/womens-suffrage-movement

To learn more about suffrage in Canada click here –> http://www.thecanadianencyclopedia.ca/en/article/suffrage/

 

2 thoughts on “Sally Heathcote Suffragette: Mary M. Talbot, Kate Charlesworth, and Brian Talbot

Leave a Reply

