Monster, Volume 1: The Perfect Edition: Naoki Urasawa

18775119Rating: ☕️☕️☕️☕️☕️

With manga or comic books, I usually like to finish reading an entire series before I write a review; however, I needed to talk about Volume 1 of Monster because I absolutely LOVED it! Once I’ve completed this manga, I will write a full series review, and trust me, I CANNOT wait to get my hands on the next volumes! That being said, let’s talk about Monster!

Oh. My. God. This was one of my favourite things I’ve read this year! Although I am extremely new to manga, as this is only the second series I’ve read, Monster blew me away. Admittedly, getting into manga has been a little bit of a challenge for me because there is SO much, and I have no idea what kind of stories I would like! However, this psychological thriller about an up-and-coming neurosurgeon and his hunt for a serial killer had me enthralled from cover to cover 😊 In Monster, the young Dr. Tenma finds himself in a difficult situation when he disobeys his director, saving the life of a young boy instead of the mayor. Several years later, a brutal serial killer is on the loose throughout Germany, and Dr. Tenma discovers that the decision which almost cost him his career could be costing people their lives. Absolute perfection!

This volume kept me on the edge of my seat the whole way through and genuinely gave me the creeps. I loved every second of it! (Have I said that already? 😛) I love psychological thrillers, and I am a huge fan of shows like Criminal Minds. The serial killer in this manga could definitely be an unsub on Criminal Minds! I think one of the aspects I loved most about this manga is that it was dark and serious without any magical element to it. The only other manga I have read is Deathnote and I liked it… but Monster completely stole the show for me. Honestly, Deathnote can’t even compare. (Please don’t hate me!)

Anyway, those are some of my thoughts about Naoki Urasawa’s first volume of Monster. I’m looking forward to finishing the series so that I can reflect on the story in its entirety. I’m always looking for new manga to explore, but this one may have set the bar pretty high! If you have any favourite manga series or suggestions please let me know in the comments!

XOCeeCee

To learn more about Naoki Urasawa click here –> http://myanimelist.net/people/1867/Naoki_Urasawa

To watch the anime with English subtitles click here –> http://www.animestreams.net/watch-monster-full-episodes-online/

To learn more about Monster click here –> http://obluda.wikia.com/wiki/Monster_Wiki 

3 thoughts on “Monster, Volume 1: The Perfect Edition: Naoki Urasawa

Leave a Reply

