BookTube-A-Thon Wrap Up

The BookTube-A-Thon has now come to a close, and I have to say, I’m pretty proud of the progress I’ve made this week! The beginning of July had been extremely slow for me and my reading. Between graduation, a family visit, moving, and a new job, my reading has suffered a lot. That being said, the BookTube-A-Thon has definitely helped me catch up on my reading and I managed to read five books this week 😊 Woohoo!

Naturally, the books I actually read strayed a little bit from my TBR, but that’s okay! It’s all about what we feel like reading right? I read four books that were originally on my TBR and one that was not. Here is a day by day breakdown of how my BookTube-A-Thon went.

 

MONDAY, JULY 18th

As soon as the clock struck midnight, I jumped into BookTube-A-Thon with Monster Vol. 1 by Naoki Urasawa. This book is a manga, so I knew that I could read it all in one sitting. This was also the book I chose to read only after sunset. Once I finished this after midnight on Monday, I was certainly off to a good start! I loved the first volume of Monster and if you want to read more of my thoughts you can read my review of it here. The next morning I picked up The Trials of Apollo: The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan. I managed to get halfway through this book on Monday, reading 180 pages.

TUESDAY, JULY 19th

Tuesday was a super busy day for me so I didn’t get a whole lot of reading done. Working 8-5 and then moving into a new apartment is making my life pretty busy and exhausting at the moment! I did manage to read around 40 pages of The Hidden Oracle.

WEDNESDAY, JULY 20th

13767609_1135827519824117_449467405_n(1)

Mister Kiko joining me in marathoning The Hidden Oracle.

On Wednesday I finished The Hidden Oracle! I marathoned the rest of it when I got home from work and I loved it 😊 I gave it five out of five teacups and you can read my review/gushfest here. This book fulfilled the challenge of reading a book by my favourite author. I also decided to start reading my book to movie adaptation pick, Coraline by Neil Gaiman. I only managed to read about 40 pages of it until my boyfriend and I decided to watch some of the anime series Berserk 😛

THURSDAY, JULY 21st

On Thursday I finished Coraline and it was great! I really love Neil Gaiman’s children’s books. The Graveyard Book is one of my favourite books of all time and Coraline is probably my second favourite Neil Gaiman book I’ve read. After finishing Coraline the boyfriend and I had to do laundry and try to tidy and unpack our new apartment a bit. I’m telling ya, moving house makes it very difficult to just sit and read for hours and hours!

FRIDAY, JULY 22nd

On Friday my boyfriend and I had to move more stuff so no time for reading 😔  I managed to read on the drive to and from our old apartment though! (It’s about and hour and ten minutes each way.) On the drive I read Monster Vol.2 by Naoki Urasawa. I loved this installment almost as much as volume one, however there were some parts in the middle that were a little meh. I have the third volume on order so I’m definitely looking forward to picking that one up in a couple of weeks!

SATURDAY, JULY 23rd 

Bright and early on Saturday morning, we hit the road to go to Halifax, Nova Scotia. The boy is a retro video game collector and vendor and he was set to sell at an event called Game Over Cancer at Dalhousie University. On the drive I started Reality Boy by A.S. King. I read just over 100 pages on the road and I have to say it is promising so far! I’ve only read two A.S. King books, Everybody Sees the Ants (which I loved) and Glory O’Brien’s History of the Future (which I didn’t.) So far it seems that Reality Boy will be good, however I’m still in the process of figuring out if I like her books or not. I definitely still want to keep reading more though!

SUNDAY, JULY 24th 

I’m sad to say that on the last day of the BookTube-A-Thon, the day when I should have been marathoning and sprinting to read as much as I could in the last 24 hours, I only read a little bit more of Reality Boy. Yes, I truly wanted to finish it and get started on A Midsummer Night’s Dream, however it wasn’t to be. We were still in Halifax, so we explored the city a bit. Of course exploring a city to us means searching for video games and books! I bought eight new books throughout our adventures in Halifax. Anyway, I ended my BookTube-A-Thon by organizing my new books on my bookshelf and watching the movie adaptation of Coraline. I have to say, I wasn’t a huge fan of the movie. According to Rotten Tomatoes, the movie has a 90%, so I may be in the minority on this one. I’m not sure I was a fan of the art style, and perhaps the book was simply too fresh in my mind so I didn’t really like some of the changes they made (such as adding the character of Wybie.) Furthermore, the book just had a different feel for me than the movie. I certainly enjoyed the experience of reading Coraline much more than I did watching it.

And that’s it! I had so much fun participating in the BookTube-A-Thon this year! I would love to do this again next year, and if the Instagram challenges are a thing again next year, I think I would like to join in on those as well. I loved watching everyone’s updates and challenges on YouTube, as well as admiring all of the beautiful book pictures on Instagram. I hope everyone had an excellent BookTube-A-Thon and until next year that’s a wrap!

XOCeeCee

To explore the BookTube-A-Thon channel on YouTube click here –> https://www.youtube.com/user/BookTubeAThon/featured 

To look at the beautiful pictures on the BookTube-A-Thon Instagram account click here –> https://www.instagram.com/booktubeathon/

To keep up with what I’m reading you can visit my Goodreads page here –> https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/6412367-chelsey

Leave a Reply

