Harry Potter And The Cursed Child Midnight Release ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

 

bigcursed

July 31st, 2016. This day will go down in history as the day we finally got our eighth Harry Potter story in the form of a play! Yes, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child was released  at midnight on July 31st, and between all the hectic moving I’ve been doing, I was able to attend the midnight release party at my local Chapters. It was magical, it was wonderful, it was exactly what you’d expect from a book store celebrating the release of something as iconic and fantastic as Harry Potter. Although my night took as few unexpected turns, I had a lot of fun and went home with a beautiful new copy of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, so I was very happy indeed!

13901955_10157275234955422_575705184_o

The best bathroom selfie I have ever taken.

The midnight release party began at 7pm, and of course I arrived there right on time! I wanted to see if they were going to do anything big to begin the party, however, they simple made an announcement and the fun began! It was really cool because they had a bunch of different stations set up and awesome activities planned. There was a sorting hat station, a potions class, a station where you could decorate a wand, and they even had a tarot card reader. Now that I think of it, I wanted to get my cards read, but I got too swept up in the moment and forgot about it 😛 The whole night was sort of a rushed, excited blur, and I jumped from one thing to the next pretty sporadically. They also had different levels of Harry Potter trivia, which I knew all of the answers to (I know that sounds simultaneously nerdy and arrogant, but it’s the truth 😆)

I saw a few people there, including one of my classmates and her little nieces. I was surprised at just how many little kids were there!  All I could think was that the inherited love of Harry Potter has definitely taken off, because the original Harry Potter generation is old enough to have kids now. It was crazy! A huge chunk of these kids weren’t even born when the last Harry Potter book came out in 2007, and here they were, dressed up and excited for the new release, as if they had done the same for the previous books. It really warmed my heart to see these kids so passionate about Harry Potter 😊 It just goes to show how the love of Harry Potter will never die, and it’s on it’s way to becoming a classic!

13901724_10157275234535422_2139218249_o

I really regret not buying this for my Harry Potter shelf.

It was the next person that I met up with that caused my night to go a little awry. One of my old friends from high school asked me if he could hang out with me at the release since he didn’t really want to go it alone. I agreed and we had lots of fun exploring the activities and perusing the bookstore, laughing at the easy Harry Potter trivia, and speculating about the new story we were going to read. The problem came when we decided to pick up our other friend from work at 11:00pm. I know this story isn’t really Harry Potter related, but it was all part of my experience, so here it goes 😛

We picked her up, but when we went to start the car… NOTHING. Yeah, you heard me. THE CAR WOULDN’T START. I started to panic a little about getting back to the bookstore on time (you know, the important thing to worry about) while my friend called CAA. After he got off the phone, he said someone would be there to boost the car in an hour or less. AN HOUR OR LESS. We finished the call at 11:20pm, and now the panic really set in. I mean, it had to be less than an hour right? We had forty minutes until our beautiful play was going to be released into the world. As the clock ticked by my anxiety grew. We joked around and talked about Harry Potter to calm our nerves, but all I could do was stare at the road and think “Accio CAA!” with all my might, wishing that they would magically appear. Luckily enough, they arrived, gave us a boost, and we still had twenty minutes to make it back to Chapters!

13901865_10157275234905422_1511762023_o

All I wanted was my Butterbeer latte from Starbucks, was that so wrong?

But wait my friends, the trial doesn’t end there. Now, I know that you’re supposed to take your car for a drive after you give it a boost. I understand that you don’t want your battery to give out again. So when my friend said that he was going to drive around for about twenty minutes to warm up the car, I was fine with it. Until he told me that he wasn’t going to drop me off at the book store. I mean, really bro? You’re dragging me down to the very end? Yes, I know I was being selfish, but it was the first midnight release of Harry Potter in almost ten years! I was never going to taste that sweet Butterbeer latte from Starbucks, I would miss the countdown, I might not even get a book if they sell quickly! I’m telling you, I was distraught.

After all of this, it turned out I was in for a lucky strike. My friend decided to go back to the bookstore after driving around for fifteen minutes, and he let myself and our friend out to go in for the last few minutes before the release. When we got there everyone was in line, which meant there was no line at Starbucks. Yes, I got my Butterbeer latte and all was well in the world! My friend got the fruit tea that was “Amortentia” themed, and we agreed that both these drinks were heavenly. Once we were standing in the line for the books, the countdown was on, and we were there when the clock struck midnight, the new release was free in the world, and the rush and hubbub of new books being distributed began. It was amazing feeling that book in my hands for the first time! I wasn’t really a fan of the cover before, but in real life it was the most beautiful thing I had ever seen 😍

13931606_10157275118070422_1498383855_o

And there you have it. That was an account of my Harry Potter and the Cursed Child release night, and I was so happy when I was driving home with my Starbucks and my book. Due to the fact that my boyfriend and I had to be out of our apartment the next day, we spent a long night after that packing and driving out of town, so I didn’t get a chance to start reading it until the next morning. It was definitely a long night! Of course, it now being August 2nd, I have finished reading Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, and I actually loved every minute of it! I’ve written a review for it and if you’d like to read it, you can click here. Until my next literary adventure!

XOCeeCee

To learn more about Harry Potter and the Cursed Child click here –> http://www.harrypottertheplay.com/

Here is a cool article I read before getting the book called 15 Things You Need to Know Before reading Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, and it’s spoiler free! –> http://www.cbc.ca/books/2016/07/10-things-you-need-to-know-about-harry-potter-and-the-cursed-child-no-spoilers.html

Here is a Buzzfeed article with some pictures from the play! –> https://www.buzzfeed.com/caseyrackham/harry-potter-and-the-cursed-child-stage-photos?utm_term=.xpojJEEyA#.pbqndll53

 

One thought on “Harry Potter And The Cursed Child Midnight Release ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

Leave a Reply

