Harry Potter and the Cursed Child: J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne, and John Tiffany

29056083Rating: ☕☕☕☕☕

**WARNING!!!! THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS. LIKE LOTS AND LOTS OF SPOILERS. If you don’t want to be spoiled, please do not read this until you have read the play!! I really don’t want to be someone who ruins a Harry Potter story for an innocent 😛 #keepthesecrets**

I don’t even know how to begin this review. I mean, how do I review a Harry Potter story, especially one that has been getting a lot of mixed reviews? It still seems so surreal that this is an actual book, and I’ve experienced the first official Harry Potter release in almost ten years. I’m so used to reading things online about Harry Potter that it took me a moment to realize that Queen Jo herself collaborated on this story, and that it is a real play showing in London right now. I guess I’ll start by saying that I loved this book and I don’t care what anybody says about it! There has been a lot of Negative Nancies roaming the internet over the last few days, and I will address them now.

I’m actually a little taken aback about how much criticism this script is getting from the Potter fandom. People are complaining that it doesn’t have the same feel as the books, that it reads like fan fiction, and that the story is ludicrous. Personally, I was never expecting this to be a deep, magnificently written eighth Harry Potter book, meant to fill the void that has been in our lives for the past nine years. This is a play. I knew that it was going to be a fun and crazy new adventure, meant for audiences that love Harry Potter to appreciate and enjoy. Yes, there were dark moments that made me emotional, but all in all, this is a production to be performed over a couple of nights. This was given to the fandom as a little treat, full of new reveals, tidbits that fans would appreciate, and light moments that will give the audience a good time. We have a new Harry Potter story, and how can you not be overjoyed at simply the experience of obtaining and appreciating Harry Potter in this new dramatic medium? Come on people!

Furthermore, of course it’s going to have a different feel from the books. The books are so rich in detail, story, and character, that it’s impossible for a script to have the same ambiance as a book. Not to mention that this script was written by Jack Thorne, NOT J.K. Rowling. Due to the fact that I wasn’t expecting it to live up to the ridiculous hype that only a Harry Potter story could receive, I enjoyed it immensely. As soon as I finished, I wanted to start reading it again from the beginning! Phew. And that ends my rant about the haters! On to the positives of the review (and trust me, they will be plentiful!)

Considering this play takes place in the Wizarding World, and therefore has quite a lot of magic, I would imagine that this play would be absolutely phenomenal to see live. As I was reading, I couldn’t help but wish over and over again that I could watch these scenes play out on stage. I love theatre and I love going to plays, and I’m certain this show would be one of the most spectacular I have ever seen. I’m really interested to see how they would do the scenes with Polyjuice Potion and transfiguartion. Also, there are sections of the play where scenes are happening really quickly and in a dream-like state, not to mention there are scenes concerning TIME TRAVEL. I would love to see how the scenes flow magically and seamlessly from one to the next!

13714136_279537315736878_1087160604_n

|| 07.31.16 ||

Story-wise, it was so much fun to revisit our favourite characters and to get to know the new generation. I loved learning what Harry and the gang were up to, what everyone did for work, and the little tidbits that were mentioned nonchalantly that made my little fangirl heart squeal. I really liked that we were simultaneously enjoying a new adventure with Albus and Scorpius, but the adventure relied so heavily on the past and our love for the previous Harry Potter stories. I mean, the boys go BACK IN TIME with the purpose of SAVING CEDRIC DIGGORY?!? Let’s be real, when the boys revealed that this was their plan, I’m sure every single one of us were like NOPE. You DO NOT mess with time. YOU BOYS ARE SO STUPID! You play around with a time turner and one little thing you do can change the world! These boys learn the hard way that if you change things in the past, people may not be born and major events may have different outcomes. Yeah, messing with time travel. Rookie mistake. However, as fans, we get to see scenes from beloved stories like The Goblet of Fire, revisit characters that have passed (Snape ❤️), and get a glimpse at alternate realities within the Harry Potter universe. Are those enough spoilers for you? 😛

Now, let’s talk about characters! First, our big three. I actually don’t have much to say about Harry and Ron (lol), but I do not want to brush over the fact that Hermione Granger is THE MINISTER OF MAGIC. Yaaasss girl ❤️ I was so happy to see Hermione still slaying after all these years. I also really enjoyed Draco in the play. I felt that near the end of the series, Draco definitely became more complex and a little more human to us. I wasn’t expecting Harry and Draco to become friends or anything, but it would have been nice to see them talk and ease up a little on the mortal enemies thing. We didn’t really get that in Deathly Hallows so I was happy to see Harry and Draco interact more and work together to save their sons in The Cursed Child.

Now let’s talk about the new characters! I cannot say how much I love the friendship between Albus and Scorpius. It’s just too perfect that Harry’s son and Draco’s son would become the new Harry and Ron. ALSO the fact that Albus is in Slytherin? LOVE ❤️ I know it was something that Albus was worried about, but I didn’t think that it would actually happen! And when it did, I was more than okay with it. Slytherin gets a bad wrap and I love that our two main guys were Slytherins and that they were saving the world! Even though they messed it up in the first place… But let’s move past that! 😛

I feel pretty cliché saying this, but I also really loved the fact that Scorpius was like the new Hermione. He was adorably nerdy and loveable, whereas Albus definitely inherited his father’s angsty side. In regards to Rose, I was disappointed that we didn’t get to see more of her. I wish she, Albus, and Scorpius could have been a new little trio, because that would have been too good. Oh well. Maybe they thought that would be too similar to Harry, Ron, and Hermione? I don’t know. I just know I would have loved to get to know her a little more!

Finally one glaring presence in this play is the character of Delphi. This is the one aspect of the play where I can understand the WTF reactions from some fans. Delphi “Diggory” is the daughter of Voldemort and Bellatrix Lestrange. I mean whaaaaaaatt? First, ew. We knew that Bellatrix was oddly obsessed with Voldemort, but the fact that they actually had….. “relations?” That just seems a little too human for Voldemort. I imagined Voldemort as someone who was so dedicated to his plan of world domination that he didn’t even think of things like sex. For some reason I would think that things like that were below him? It sounds weird to say, but do you know what I mean? Especially because of his whole inability to love thing, you would think that he wouldn’t even think about women 😛 I know love is different than lust, but still. Voldemort wanting his jollies? TOO WEIRD. Also, Delphi says that she was born right before the Battle of Hogwarts, which made me shake my head a little bit. I mean, we did NOT see a pregnant Bellatrix at any point, and to my knowledge she didn’t mysteriously disappear. Or did she? I kind of want to go back and really pay attention to Bellatrix because we know how Jo plans these things. She never just pulls stuff out of the air and everything always connects or makes sense in a certain way. I wonder if she was planning this all along? But Voldemort having a daughter? It’s definitely crazy!

Well, I think that’s all I really have to say about this new Harry Potter story. One of the main points I wanted to make in this review was to shake off the haters. I just feel that some people need to chill out and appreciate this for what it was! It’s not going to ruin any aspect of our beloved world and book series. This play is simply meant to be a treat for the fandom, a show to watch and enjoy while receiving some new information about the world we know and love. I am not one to think that an author should stop or leave a series where they ended it. I will always  be on board if an author I love wants to continue with new stories in a world they created. And who would really dislike the opportunity to get to know Albus and Scorpius? I know that this play has received a mixed bag of reviews, and you can count me in with the positives! I definitely want to see this play if I ever have the chance, and it now sits in its rightful place on my beloved Harry Potter shelf.

XOCeeCee

Warning! The following links contain spoilers. Don’t visit these pages if you don’t want to be spoiled.

If you would like to read my blog post about the Harry Potter and the Cursed Child midnight release, you can click here –> Harry Potter And The Cursed Child Midnight Release ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

Want to learn more about Harry Potter and the Cursed Child? Click here –> http://www.harrypottertheplay.com/

Here is a review done by the lovely Christine at polandbananasbooks. I really enjoyed watching this review and I hope you will too! –> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w_FkXoZBhj0 

Here is a list of a bunch of WTF moments from the play –> http://io9.gizmodo.com/the-9-most-wtf-moments-in-harry-potter-and-the-cursed-1784685746

Here is a Buzzfeed article that sums up some of the new information we’ve learned from Harry Potter and the Cursed Child –> https://www.buzzfeed.com/eleanorbate/ron-and-hermione-and-the-cursed-child?utm_term=.lhEyrkkzM#.abl9122Ea

And here is my favourite! This is a hilarious list of 96 Thoughts I Had While Reading Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. I laughed so hard and it’s pretty accurate –> https://www.buzzfeed.com/michaelblackmon/why-would-anyone-sleep-with-voldemort?utm_term=.sxBQRVVmJ#.qyXxV33K7

 

3 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child: J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne, and John Tiffany

Leave a Reply

