Girls in White Dresses: Jennifer Close

10047589Rating: ☕ 1/2

I have to say, this book just wasn’t for me. I’ve seen Girls in White Dresses on so many lists describing books you should read in your twenties, books that have awesome female friendships, and other “books-to-read” lists. This was actually how I discovered this book, and when I saw that it was described as the perfect depiction of womanhood in your early twenties, my expectations were set a little high. I fully expected to enjoy this book, perhaps relate a little bit, and have a good laugh, but it just didn’t do it for me! Where I was expecting a fun novel about the trials and tribulations of early adulthood, I just got a boring, whiny book full of unmemorable and annoying characters.

Girls in White Dresses tells the stories of a group of girls who are trying to navigate the world of dating, jobs, and life in early adulthood. They do all this while watching other girls they know start to get married and have kids. This premise made me think that I would be able to relate, since I am also trying to navigate my early twenties, however I couldn’t relate to any of these characters. They all seemed very whiny and self-indulgent to me. Not to mention they were suckers for punishment. Seriously, if the guy you are dating is an asshole and you don’t even like him, why are you with him? Each chapter gave us a glimpse into the life of a different girl, and there were so many of them that it was hard to keep track of who was who. This was especially true because they were all so similar. Every time a new chapter started I had to ask myself, “wait, who is this one again?”

I also didn’t appreciate that every guy in this book was an asshole or described in an unlikeable way. Even if one of the girls was dating a good guy, they always complained about them – he was too boring, he was too lazy, he was too wrapped up in his job, he was too weird. It was exhausting. It seemed that no one, even the women who were married, were in love at all! I didn’t sense an ounce of happiness from any of the characters concerning their marriages or families. It was depressing! It honestly made me not want to get married or have kids 😛

I suppose there are people out there who would like this book. It’s good if you’re looking for a character story more so than a plot driven novel. Honestly, I would suggest that it’s not really worth the time. It’s not that great, but at least it’s short (just under 300 pages) if you want to give it a go!

XOCeeCee

To find out more about Jennifer Close and her books, you can visit her website here –> http://jenniferclosebooks.com/

Here is a list of books to read in your twenties, featuring this book. Although this one didn’t hit the mark for me, maybe you can find other good reads on here –> http://www.popsugar.com/love/Books-Women-20s-35262958#photo-35262974

 

One thought on “Girls in White Dresses: Jennifer Close

Leave a Reply

