Very Good Lives: J.K. Rowling

23731881Rating: ☕️☕️☕️☕️☕️

“Rock bottom became the solid foundation on which I rebuilt my life.” – J.K. Rowling 

I really don’t know what to say about this except that it is absolute perfection! This tiny book contains a commencement speech that J.K. Rowling gave at Harvard university in 2008. The words that she shares are so beautiful and full of wisdom, and I want to remember them always. Her advice is something I definitely want to live by and share with family, friends, and students for years to come.

As a high school teacher, I hope that someday I can give this to all of my grade 12 students as a graduation present. I know of English teachers that gift books to their students as they are getting ready to leave high school, and I definitely want to be one of those teachers! This book is perfect for anyone who is graduating high school or university with their seemingly endless and bright futures ahead of them. It is at these crossroads in our lives when everyone is talking about success, following your dreams, and living an amazing life, and Queen Jo reminds us that it is important to realize the possibility of failure and the benefits that can come from that.

I picked this up recently for the second time and this time I actually read it while listening to Rowling give the speech. I would highly suggest doing this, or even just watching the speech on YouTube. Reading the speech isn’t the same as hearing Jo speak with her experience, emotion, and humour. I mean, is there really anyone who should speak at a graduation other than J.K. Rowling? Needless to say, I am a huge J.K. Rowling fan, and she is definitely someone I would love to grab coffee with and just have a good chat. She is such an inspiration because she has genuinely known hardship and failure and has overcome so much. We can see the wisdom she has gained from her life experience reflected in her Harry Potter series, whether it be grief over losing a parent or dealing with poverty. In this speech she tells us directly what she has dealt with and what it has taught her.

I don’t know what else to say other than this book is so cute and perfect! The illustrations are wonderful and the emphasis of certain words or phrases through the typography is well done. I think anyone can benefit from this read, not just grads, and I highly recommend it! It is certainly humbling if you have only experienced success in your education, work life, or personal life. I love that this speech teaches us not to fear failure, but to embrace the chance to bounce back. It can certainly give you hope if you are down in the dumps. This is simply another masterpiece from Queen Jo 👸🏼

XOCeeCee

To watch this speech click here –> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UibfDUPJAEU

Want some more Rowling wisdom? Here are some of J.K. Rowling’s amazing quotes –> https://www.buzzfeed.com/jemimaskelley/this-queen?utm_term=.bud90eep3#.jupnXbbK6

Need more proof that Jo is queen? Here you go –> https://www.buzzfeed.com/kimberleydadds/happy-50th-birthday-jk-rowling?utm_term=.jlojOnneM#.eowGOyyw0 

To learn more about J.K. Rowling and her work you can visit her website here –> http://www.jkrowling.com/en_GB/

 

 

2 thoughts on “Very Good Lives: J.K. Rowling

Leave a Reply

