Fall Time Cozy Time Book Tag

14341516_10157493762325422_1189183945_nIn my opinion, fall is the absolute best season of the year. Although I love the sun, relaxation, and beach reads that come with summer, as soon as September 1st hits, I am ready to enjoy my favourite season! It’s the season of cozy sweaters, pumpkin spice, warm mugs, and fresh new school years. From September to December we also get my two favourite holidays, Halloween and Christmas! I just can’t get enough of fall and I will always be happiest once the leaves burst into flames of bright colours and there’s a little nip in the air.

d56f9623a1082eafbf40d0198ae81725Naturally as soon as I saw there was a book tag all
about fall, I couldn’t resist! Books and my favourite season? Yes please! This tag is perfect for getting in the mood for autumn, and I thought it was an excellent way to celebrate the beginning of my favourite season. So without further ado, here is the Fall Time Cozy Time Book Tag. This tag was created by Sam’s Nonsense over on BookTube and you can watch her original video here –> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q-4nDR8jXi0 Now on to the questions!

1. Crunching Leaves: The world is full of colour, choose a book that has reds, oranges, and yellows on the cover.

harry_potter_and_the_order_of_the_phoenixI’m sorry, but I can’t help but be cliché and pick a Harry Potter book for this one. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix is just so beautiful and perfect for this question. You have all of the autumn colours from the yellow and red colour scheme of the title to the flames around the phoenix. And the phoenix itself is gorgeous with its flaming swirls of colour. You have to admit, it’s pretty difficult to pick any other book for this question!

 

2. Cozy Sweater: It is finally cool enough to don warm, cozy clothing, what book gives you the warm fuzzies?

22247695Stephanie Perkins seems like another one of those cliché answers, but when I read Lola and the Boy Next Door, I could not get over how giddy I was! I can’t even do justice to how good Stephanies’s books make you feel. I found myself gushing uncontrollably right in the middle of campus while I was reading this book between classes. To tell you the truth, when I finished the book, I had the biggest smile on my face and couldn’t help but let out a sigh as I hugged the book to my chest. These books are like happy pills and they will always give me the warm fuzzies!

3. Fall Storm: The wind is howling and the rain is pounding, choose your favourite book or genre that you like to read on a stormy day?

127459I am definitely a seasonal reader. Once autumn rolls around, I find myself reading less cutesy contemporaries and more historical fictions and fantasies. I really couldn’t pick between these two genres for my favourite thing to read during a fall storm, so the book I picked for my example combines the two beautifully! I am currently reading The Sweet Far Thing, the final book in the Gemma Doyle trilogy. Set in the late 1800’s and full of magic and other worldly realms, this chunk of a book is perfect to curl up with on a rainy day with a cup of tea.

 

4. Cool, Crisp Air: What’s the coolest character you’d want to trade places with?

227650This question was extremely difficult because, when it comes down to it, the characters that I read about are not really in desirable situations. I mean, who would want to live in a dystopian world? And even Hermione Granger needs to deal with a war and Lord Voldemort. So for this question I picked someone from a contemporary, and that is Becky Bloomwood from the Shopaholic series. Becky lives in England, has a gorgeous husband, a best girlfriend, a cute toddler, and loving parents. The biggest problems she faces are finances (don’t we all) and she just seems like a lot of fun. And it wouldn’t hurt to be able to go on a huge shopping spree every now and then!

5. Hot Apple Cider: What under-hyped book do you want to see become the next biggest, hottest thing?

3360060I know that Jodi Picoult is a best selling author, however, in the BookTube channels I watch, I don’t think I’ve ever heard her mentioned. I love Jodi Picoult’s writing style, characters and stories. I find her books so immersive and I always find myself caring about the characters I’m reading. She is even able to get my heart racing with the suspense of her courtroom dramas. I picked The Pact for this question because it is one of my all time favourite books, but I think any Jodi Picoult book could fit this question.

 

6. Coats, Scarves, and Mittens: The weather has turned cold and it’s time to cover up, what’s the most embarrassing book cover you own that you like to keep covered in public?

6936382The original Anna and the French Kiss cover. I mean, come on. Is there anything more I can say? Just look…. Imagine reading that on the Tube, the bus or on campus… Yeah I tired to hide that one as best as I could.

 

 

 

7. Pumpkin Spice: What are your favourite fall time comfort foods?  

My favourite fall drink that I have all the time while I’m reading is cinnamon hot chocolate! I make it pretty much everyday with a mixture of hot chocolate mix and cinnamon and marshmallows with more cinnamon sprinkled on top! It is soooo good! As for food, I’m a huge fan of banana bread and banana nut muffins from Tim Hortons. I love banana bread so much that my birthday cake when I was six years old was just that: a loaf of banana bread 😛

And those were all the questions! I loved this tag and I would love to do another tag like this the next time the fall season rolls around. Until next time, I hope your autumn is cozy, your mugs full of warmth, and your reading life full of wonderful books!

XOCeeCee

Here are a couple of my favourite BookTubers doing the Fall Time Cozy Time Book Tag –> Jessethereader: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nwMBx1d8KGY PeruseProject: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DFytN_8BEQs

Want to learn more about the books mentioned in this tag? Here are the links to their Goodreads pages:

 

Leave a Reply

