Monsters: Emerald Fennell

25399706Rating:ย โ˜•โ˜•โ˜•ย 1/2

This was one of the most unsettling reads that I have experienced in a very long time. I don’t read many “horror” novels, but I do enjoy a good book that can give me some serious chills.ย Monstersย by Emerald Fennellย certainly fit the bill! Every year around Halloween, I make an effortย to pick up creepy books, but after this one I think I may need a little break! I knew this book was supposed to be dark, but it surpassed my expectations with just how disturbing it was.

Monstersย is about two children on a summer vacation who never should have met. Both seriously troubledย in their own ways, they definitely bring out the worst in each other. Set in a Cornish town, these children have a fascination with the macabre, and they become intriguedย when a body of a woman washes up on shore. They closely follow the case as more and more bodies wash up, and as it becomes apparent that there is a serial killer in their midst.

Like I said, this book is so creepy and twisted. The thoughts and actions of these two thirteen-year-olds sent chills down my spine. I mean, what kids like to pretend they are murderers and their victims?! These two enjoy pretending to murder each other, and sometimes take it a little too far. Also, when they meet another young girl, they amuse themselves by scaring the wits out of her and take an unsettling pleasure in doing so.

Furthermore, some of the descriptions of the dead bodies completely grossed me out. They were found in the water, so you can only imagine how bloated and soggy they were. The fact that our two main characters are so interested and enjoyย looking at these dead bodies is just eerie.

I don’t know what else to say about this book without spoiling too much. Following these intense kids throughout their summer adventures and watching them descend into darker and darker habits will definitely keep you up at night! Maybe it wasn’t such a good idea to finish this one alone in bed, but there’s no turning back now! The psychology and insanity apparent in people who are so young really disturbed me and I’ll be thinking about this book for some time. I would definitely recommend Monstersย as a Halloween read if you want to thoroughly creep yourself out! Happy Halloween reading everyone!

XOCeeCee

If you want to learn more about Emerald Fennell and her work, you can visit her wikipedia here –>ย https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Emerald_Fennell

Here is the YouTube video from booksandquills where I discovered this book. She also talks about some other recommended Halloween reads! –>ย https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ePFsPU_8EI

One thought on “Monsters: Emerald Fennell

Leave a Reply

