๐Ÿšซ๐Ÿ“–๐ŸšซI Read Banned Books Pt. 2๐Ÿšซ๐Ÿ“–๐Ÿšซ

banned-books-week

So this post is way more delayed than I intended it to be. Between work, getting sick, and my biggest reading slump of the year, my banned books week reading didn’t exactly go according to plan. Therefore, this promised “Part 2” is pretty much a fail. But hey, spreading awareness and appreciation of our freedom to read is what it’s all about right? I had so much fun researching and discussing banned books all week with friends, family, and students that banned books week was somewhat of a success for me ๐Ÿ˜› So, it may be three weeks late, and I may have only read two banned books, but we’re going to celebrate our freedom to read anyway! Here is my pathetic recap of my banned books read-a-thon.

To celebrate banned books week I wanted to make an effort to read as many banned books as I could. As I’ve already said, September hit me hard with a crazy reading slump, so I barely read half of what I wanted to read this week. However, I don’t limit my enjoyment of banned books to one week of the year, so I’m eager to continue tackling my list.

13536360During banned books week I picked upย The Face on the Milk Cartonย by Caroline B. Cooney because I wanted something short to help push me out of my slump. This didn’t really work because I read this book for probably four or five days ๐Ÿ˜› I enjoyed this book, but didn’t love it enough to want to pursue the series. I may or may not pick up some of the other books in a used bookstore somewhere down the line, we’ll see.

The second book I picked up wasย A Study in Scarletย by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. This is the first Sherlock Holmes novel and I will admit to you that I did not pick it up because I thought it was banned. I was really feeling my slump at this point and I didn’t really want to be confined to by banned books pile. I know! I’mย horrible. Maybe next year I won’t make so many false promises ๐Ÿ˜› Once I picked upย A Study in Scarlet, I wondered if it had been banned or challenged for any reason. It seems that pretty much 23157096every book has been challenged at some point so I figured it was worth a shot. I did some googling and it turns out thatย A Study in Scarlet, a Sherlock Holmes classic, has been challenged in parts of the United States for its “anti-Mormon sentiments.” It is true that the Mormons in this book are not presented in a favourable light. I just think it’s really funny how so many books, even books that you wouldn’t even think could be challenged, have met some controversy here and there.

119322And that was about it! Shortly after I finished the first Sherlock Holmes adventure, I picked byย The Golden Compassย by Philip Pullman, which was on my banned books TBR. I’m enjoying it so far and perhaps we’ll see a review once I am finished, but I’ve learned better than to make any promises ๐Ÿ˜‰ I hope everyone enjoyed reading and learning about banned books, and I encourage everyone to celebrate their freedom to read all year long. Please let me know what you’ve been reading and what your favourite banned books are down in the comments below!

XOCeeCee

To read my optimistic I Read Banned Books Part 1 post you can click here –>ย โ›”๏ธ๐Ÿ“–๐Ÿšซ I Read Banned Books Pt. 1 ๐Ÿšซ๐Ÿ“–โ›”๏ธ

To find more lists of banned books, you can visit the ALA website here –> http://www.ala.org/bbooks/frequentlychallengedbooks/top100

To learn more about the books I’ve read this week, you can visit their Goodreads pages here:

Leave a Reply

