P.S. I Still Love You: Jenny Han

20698530Rating: ☕️ ☕️ ☕️ ☕️ 1/2

Jenny Han has definitely worked her way into my heart as one of my favourite contemporary writers. I know that’s kind of a grandiose statement, considering I’ve only read two of her books, however To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and P.S. I Still Love You are just so cute and heartwarming 🙂 I swear, these books are the definition of adorable.

P.S. I Still Love You is the sequel to the bestselling To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before. I read this first book this past summer and I loved it just as much. They are both just fantastic! I did write a review for To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, and if you would like to read it you can click here. I don’t really want to give a summary of this book due to the fact that is it a sequel, but the premise of To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before involves a hatbox full of secret love letters being sent out and all of the cute hilarity that ensues. Like I said, P.S. I Still Love You is just as adorable and I finished it in under 24 hours because I could not put it down!

**WARNING!! This next part of the review is going to go into some spoilery territory. If you do not want to be spoiled, you can skip to the last paragraph of this review** 

I loved how this book started right where we left off in To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, and that we had Peter and Lara Jean together right away. I didn’t want to read a whole other book about waiting for them to get together! Peter was as cute as ever, and I really related to the thoughts and feelings Lara Jean had about their relationship. Some of my favourite moments were when Peter showed up to drive Kitty to school for her birthday and when he gave Lara Jean the locket. Whenever I read moments like these, my heart melted ❤

I’m really debating giving this book 5 teacups, but there were just a couple things that I found a little annoying. First of all, let’s talk about the hot tub video fiasco. I understand why Lara Jean felt the way she did because I definitely would have felt the same way when I was in high school. You know the feeling – not wanting anyone to think you were “that girl” who had sex. However, now having grown up a little bit and become more liberal in my sexual views, I couldn’t help but think – who cares? Who cares if people think you were having sex in the hot tub? Sex is an important part of life and, frankly, it’s a lot of fun! That being said, with Lara Jean being a virgin, I can see her point. Like I said, as a seventeen-year-old I would have felt exactly the same way if there was a video posted of me in which people thought I was having sex. Honestly, I felt worse for her in light of the fact that the most romantic moment of her life was tainted by it being made public. That moment was a beautiful one for Peter and Lara Jean, and it was nobody’s business.

Secondly, and probably the most annoying thing in this book for me was the relationship between Peter and Genevieve. I totally understood where Lara Jean was coming from with her annoyance at them spending time together without telling her anything. Even though Peter and Genevieve were just friends and there’s nothing wrong with supporting your friends, the issue was that Peter didn’t seem to be putting Lara Jean first. We’re going to leave aside the fact that this “friend” was his ex-girlfriend, which I think is a sticky situation. If he was going to be with Genevieve and going to be comforting her, he should have told Lara Jean what it’s all about. I believe that in a relationship all knowledge is shared knowledge, and in my own relationship I feel confident in the notion that we don’t have any secrets from each other. In my view, your partner always comes first and deserves to know everything. If they don’t want to know, then that’s when you don’t have to tell them. I guess that’s entirely a personal hangup and maybe not enough to dock half a teacup away from this book. However, it definitely annoyed me when Peter was seemingly keeping secrets about his ex-girlfriend!

Now let’s discuss the great parts of this book. First and foremost, I absolutely love the Covey family! Like I said in my review of To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, the Covey sisters remind me of my own family, and I love seeing the familial relationships being portrayed as equally important with the romantic relationship. Kitty is hilarious and Margot, although absent for a chunk of the book, is still actively involved in her family life from across the sea. I will never get enough of reading this family!

Also, in this novel, we meet a new heartthrob – John Ambrose McLaren. John Ambrose is brilliant. I was so conflicted while reading scenes with Lara Jean and John because I felt like I was definitely rooting for her and Peter, but John is so….. perfect. Where we’ve seen the many flaws of Peter in the past, John seemingly has none. I loved reading scenes with John because every one of them was so adorable, and in those moments I kind of felt like I was rooting for Lara Jean and John too. I love it when an author creates a sort of love triangle where you genuinely love both of the options. I’ve only seen that done once successfully in YA literature – in the Infernal Devices trilogy by Cassandra Clare. Now Jenny Han has proven to me that she can write a fantastic romantic conflict as well. Reading Lara Jean’s feelings for both Peter and John was one of the first times that I actually believed that someone could love two people at the same time.

**END OF SPOILERS**

All that being said, Jenny Han has become one of my new queens of contemporary. I’m pleased to say that To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before and P.S. I Still Love You were supposed to be a duology, BUT Jenny Han has announced that she is releasing another book to conclude it as a trilogy. I am SO excited for this last book! To be honest I wish there were like twenty of these books because they are so perfect for when I’m in a cutesy contemporary mood or experiencing a reading slump. The third book, Always and Forever, Lara Jean comes out next year and I am definitely going to be buying that one the day it comes out! Needless to say, I highly recommend these books! They are simply wonderful 🙂

XOCeeCee

To learn more about Jenny Han and her books, you can visit her website here –> http://jennyhan.com/

To watch a book talk with Jenny Han and one of my favourite BookTubers you can click here –> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_DeNIyjrhQU

Again, if you want to read my review for To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, you can click here –>  To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before: Jenny Han

2 thoughts on “P.S. I Still Love You: Jenny Han

Leave a Reply

