All the Books of 2016

sparkly-books_1000pxThe end of 2016 has come and gone, and like most people who talk about books on the internet, I love to reflect back on my reading year and see what I loved, what I hated, and any other bookish superlatives I can think of! While scrolling through Instagram, I found this list of questions that I thought would be a great way to review my 2016 reading year. By simply answering these questions, I will be able to look back and remember all the great (and not so great) books that I consumed in the past year. I will also link any reviews I have written for these books, so you can read them by clicking on the title of the book. Without any further ado, here is a peek at my reading in 2016!

  • First Read of the Year – Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson
  • Shortest book you read – Very Good Lives by J.K. Rowling
  • New favourite authors – Jenny Han and Nicola Yoon
  • Biggest surpriseFishbowl by Bradley Somer
  • Favourite book cover of 2016Columbine by Dave Cullen
  • Newest fictional crushJohn Ambrose McLaren (from P.S. I Still Love You)
  • Best sequel you readP.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han 

 

  • New fav female charactersLara Jean Song (from To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before), Emma Carstairs (from Lady Midnight), Adélaïde L. Belmont (from The Doldrums), Ethel Williams and Maud Fitzherbert (from Fall of Giants), Inej Ghafa (from Six of Crows)
  • Book you didn’t finishShooting an Elephant by George Orwell, Letters to Juliet by Lise Friedman and Ceil Friedman 
  • Best character developmentLight by Michael Grant 
  • New favourite friendshipsKelsier’s Band (from Six of Crows), Emma and the Blackthorns (from Lady Midnight), Sherlock Holmes and John Watson (from A Study in Scarlet), Rose and Lissa (from Vampire Academy), Orange crew (from The Complete Orange Vol. 1), Maud and Ethel (from Fall of Giants)
  • Book that deserves more attentionThe Gigantic Beard That Was Evil by Stephen Collins
  • ***SPOILER ALERT FOR LADY MIDNIGHT NEXT**
  • Best villainMalcolm Fade (from Lady Midnight)
  • Favourite fictional worldFurthermore (from Furthermore)
  • Books you rereadVery Good Lives by J.K. Rowling, The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket, The Reptile Room by Lemony Snicket, Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling, The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin, The Evolution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling
  • New fave male charactersKelsier (from Mistborn), Daniel (from The Sun is Also a Star), John Ambrose McLaren (from P.S. I Still Love You), Scorpius Malfoy (from Harry Potter and the Cursed Child), Dr. Kenzo Tenma (from Monster), Apollo (from The Trials of Apollo)
  • Longest book you readFall of Giants by Ken Follett 
  • Favourite debut novel of 2016Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi
  • Didn’t meet your expectationsThe Fever by Megan Abbott
  • Beautifully written bookThe Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon
  • New favourite OTPsDaniel and Natasha (from The Sun is Also a Star), Emma and Julian (from Lady Midnight), Lara Jean and Peter (from To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before), Walter and Maud (from Fall of Giants)
  • Books that made you cryAnother Day in the Death of America by Gary Younge, The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne, and John Tiffany
  • New favourite side characters – Breeze (from Mistborn), Kitty (from To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before)
  • Magical readHarry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany
  • Best conclusion to a seriesLight by Michael Grant 
  • Last read of 2016Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
  • Book you finally read this yearThe Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
  • Most anticipated release of 2017Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare 

 

So there is a glimpse into my reading life of 2016! I am so excited for 2017 and a fresh new year full of love, laughter, happiness, and of course, READING 😀 Happy New Year everyone. Here’s to a fantastic 2017!

XOCeeCee

To find me on Goodreads, you can visit my profile here. Feel free to add me as a friend! –> https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/6412367-chelsey

Leave a Reply

