So You’ve Been Publicly Shamed: Jon Ronson

22571552Rating: ☕☕☕ 1/2

This book was certainly an interesting and somewhat frightening read! I haven’t picked up a piece of nonfiction in a little while, and So You’ve Been Publicly Shamed was refreshing. It definitely put me in the mood for more nonfiction in the near future! Even though I didn’t give this one a super high rating, I would still recommend this one, especially if you are active on the internet and social media. It is a cautionary tale that reminds us to be extra careful about what we’re posting online, and how one wrong thing can drastically effect our lives.

So You’ve Been Publicly Shamed takes a look at the lives of people who have said something or done something wrong in the eyes of the internet, and how publicly shaming them on Twitter or somewhere else online has put a real wrench in their lives. It also takes a look at the history of shaming and how we as humans have moved from abolishing public shaming in the mid 1800’s to its resurgence on the internet.

I found this book to be extremely interesting, as I find anything to do with social science or psychology to be an enthralling read. I read this one fairly quickly, and the only reason I didn’t give it a higher rating is because I felt like Ronson went on a few tangents sometimes that strayed away from the people and topics that caught my interest.

Overall, I think many people would enjoy this one, and really everyone should read it and think twice about how they are presenting themselves online. I think many people tend to forget that how they present themselves on Facebook or Twitter can have major effects on their real life, especially where their jobs are concerned. In the teaching profession, it is very important to be hyper aware of what you are doing online, and I have known teachers to lose their jobs over seeminlgy minor online infractions. I truly think this should be required reading for all internet users! 😛

XOCeeCee

To learn more about Jon Ronson and his work, you can visit his website here –> http://www.jonronson.com/ 

To watch a great review/discussion video about this book, you can click here –> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DXsYRwU-12A

One thought on “So You’ve Been Publicly Shamed: Jon Ronson

Leave a Reply

